Tuesday, July 6, 2010

New Trains Shifted To Anand Vihar to Decongest Major Stations

The Anand Vihar railway terminal is finally alive and kicking; with six popular trains being shifted to the terminal by this fiscal to help decongest New Delhi Railway Station. First off the blocks are those trains which carry the most passengers and have the most unreserved coaches.

Railway minister Mamata Banerjee however has won this round of the ‘‘state battle’’ no trains to West Bengal or Orissa are for now being shifted to the new terminal.

Five of the trains are Bihar-bound, and one goes to Assam. ‘‘Our aim is to decongest New Delhi station by shifting some Bihar-bound trains to Anand Vihar in view of the huge number of passengers who travel in unreserved coaches in those trains,” northern railway general manager SK Budhalakoti said.

The shift will take place by this financial year pending completion of some work of phase II of the Anand Vihar project, Budhalakoti added.

The six trains are the Bhagalpur-bound Vikramshila Express, Muzaffarpur-bound Saptkranti Express, Rajendra Nagar-bound Nizamuddin Garib Rath Express, Jaynagar-bound Nizamuddin Express, Islampur-bound New Delhi Magadh Express, besides the Guwahatibound North East Express.

According to officials, the move has been approved by the Railway Board. The need to shift the trains gathered momentum soon after the stampede at New Delhi station last month which claimed two lives.

New Delhi station at the moment handles about seven lakh passengers and over 300 trains, thus stretching station infrastructure to its limit. After releasing the new zonal railway timetable, Budhalakoti told reporters three trains, including the Lichchvi Express and the Hatia-bound Delhi Jharkhand Express, will be shifted taking the total number of trains being shifted to 9 to the new terminal by July 15.

Anand Vihar station currently handles four express trains and special trains to eastern states.

The timings of four other trains have also been changed as per the new time schedule. Most express trains will enter Delhi 10 minutes earlier than their existing schedules. ‘‘Better quality locomotives and coaches being used will help us reduce travelling time,’’ said Manish Tiwari, CPRO, Northern Railway.

The Kalka Himalayan Queen Express will now originate and terminate at Delhi Sarai Rohilla instead of from Nizamuddin station, while the Amritsar-bound Shaan-e-Punjab will now originate and terminate from New Delhi station instead of from Nizamuddin.


Trains shifted to Anand Vihar

Rajendra Nagar Garib Rath from Nizammudin Jay Nagar Garib Rath from Nizamuddin

North-East Express from New Delhi Sapt Kranti Express from New Delhi

Magadh Express from New Delhi Vikramshila Express from New Delhi

Train shifted to New Delhi

Shaan-e-Punjab from Nizamuddin Trains shifted to Sarai Rohilla

Dehradun AC Express from New Delhi Himalayan Queen from Nizamuddin

Train shifted to Old Delhi

Kathgodam Express from Sarai Rohilla

Frequency increased for

Bandra terminus Express, Samta Express, Pragati Express, Faizabad Express, UP Sampark Kranti Express, Chetak Express

Arrival/departure times changed for:

Yeshwantpur Duranto Express, Haridwar-Valsad Express, Bikaner Express

Train journeys extended:

Guwahati Rajdhani to Dibrugarh, Rajender Nagar Garib Rath to Bhagalpur


amlu said...