Friday, June 25, 2010

Delhi Metro Badarpur Line to be Opened in July

Metro is slowly expanding its reach in the capital. The Central Secretariat (CTST)-Badarpur line will soon dot the Metro map with trial run on the section starting in the first week of July.

‘‘The 9km-long stretch between CTST and Lajpat Nagar is almost ready and we plan to start the trial runs from July. For this, four coaches of the standard gauge would be lowered by cranes and dragged to the Jangpura station where it will be assembled. It is easier to lower the coaches on the ramp near Jangpura, as after this the entire section is elevated,’’ said Kumar Keshav, director, project and planning, DMRC. Coaches will be brought from Mundka standard gauge depot for this special trial run.

For the first time, DMRC is conducting trial run on a small stretch of an underconstruction Metro line. DMRC officials say that this is going to save time and help in finishing the project before the Games. ‘‘This (Badarpur line) is the second line built on the standard gauge specification. The stretch between CTST and Lajpat Nagar is almost ready, so we plan to conduct the trial on 40% of the entire line,’’ said Keshav.

The trial run will on the small stretch will continue for four weeks and then will be extended to Nehru Place.

Two cranes would be used for lowering the coaches. It is expected to start at 11 pm on Saturday night and is likely to be over by 6 am on Sunday morning. For this, DMRC has asked Delhi traffic police to allow traffic diversion near Defence Colony and Moolchand flyover on one side.

The Rs 3,603 crore projects got delayed by five months due to the Zamrudpur accident. Metro officials say that the work on this line is almost 70% complete. There are 16 stations on the 20.16km-long CTST-Badarpur line Central Secretariat, Khan Market, Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, Jangpura, Lajpat Nagar, Moolchand, Kailash Colony, Nehru Place, Kalkaji Mandir, Govindpuri, Okhla, Jasola, Sarita Vihar, Mohan Estate, Tughlakabad and Badarpur.